Tuesday, 17 March 2015

THE JACKDAW by Luke Delaney Publisher HarperCollins UK, HarperFiction/Blue Door

BOOK BLURB

The fourth novel in the DI Sean Corrigan series – authentic and terrifying crime fiction with a psychological edge, by an ex-Met detective. Perfect for fans of Mark Billingham, Peter James and Stuart MacBride.
Guilty or not guilty?

A lone vigilante is abducting wealthy Londoners and putting their fate in the hands of the public. Within hours of disappearing, the victims appear on the internet, bound to a chair in a white room.

Revenge or mercy?

Their crimes of greed and incompetence are broadcast to the watching thousands who make up the jury. Once the verdict is cast, the man who calls himself ‘The Jackdaw’ will be judge and executioner.
Live or die?

DI Sean Corrigan and his Special Investigations Unit are under pressure to solve this case fast. But as The Jackdaw’s popularity grows, Corrigan realizes he’s hunting a dangerously clever and elusive adversary – one who won’t stop until his mission is complete.





MY REVIEW

I received this book from the publishers in exchange for an honest review. Well get ready for a truly amazing read, the characters are absolutely awesome, this book has it all, I was giggling in places, and trembling in others. The Jackdaw book has some very violent scenes, serial killers are often like that, this is about a serial killer, not the normal run of the mill kind of killer either, this one thinks he is teaching people a lesson, making them pay for their crimes against the public, crimes in his imagination, or maybe they are really crimes? who knows, only the public can judge if the person he is holding prisoner is guilty or innocent. The killer uses YOU VIEW, the U-Tube equivalent to air his kidnapped victims, he tells the audience of the crime he is charging the victim with, and then he gets them to vote, GUILTY or INNOCENT!!! He carries out the verdict live on You View, if they are found guilty he murders them. Truly different from most stories about serial killers, the author has done an amazing job to make his work realistic and honest. There is the typical story hungry reporter, who will do anything to get the story first. There are the higher archy breathing down the lead officer's neck to get results, and there is the lead officer, who is excellent at his work, he seems to know what the killer is about, what he is likely to do, what he won't do, this guy knows his job and then some..DI Sean Corrigan!!! I really do not want to tell you any more information relating to the story, or I would spoil it for you, but truthfully this is an amazing book, full of highs and lows, twists and turns. You feel as if you are partaking of the hunt for the killer, read this definitely as its such a terrific book